New Board Members joining the ISE Leadership

New Board Members joining the ISE Leadership

With excitement, we announce that after a thorough nominations process conducted in February and March, the General Assembly elected six excellent new members to be joining the ISE Board as of April 2022.

We are equally thankful to confirm the election of the incoming Senior Leadership team with three Board members stepping up to the positions of President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer.

With a revised strategy and updated governance principles focusing on a collaborative and inclusive approach toward all our members and partners globally, ISE welcomes a diverse representation from different regions around the world to join the Board and support the strategic direction of ISE. We are eager to continue serving the global endocrinology community in the best way possible and so the passion, dedication and views of our new members will be a valuable addition to the already excellent drive and expertise of the current Board.

Please join us in welcoming the newly elected ISE Board members and wishing them a successful and enriching experience.

Syed Abbas Raza (Pakistan) – President-Elect

Syed Abbas Raza is working as consultant Diabetologist/Endocrinologist at Shaukat Khanum Cancer Hospital & Research Center and National Hospital in Lahore, Pakistan. He joined the ISE Board in 2018 and since then has been actively involved in various society activities. He is the Chair of the ISE Education Working group and has taken on many other leadership positions outside ISE such as – President of the South Asian Federation of Endocrine Societies (SAFES), President of the Pakistan Endocrine Society, member of the Board of Directors of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologist (AACE) and more.

Alvin Powers (USA) – Secretary

Alvin Powers, the Joe C. Davis Chair in Biologic Science and Professor of Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at Vanderbilt University, is Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Center, the Chief of the Vanderbilt Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism, and Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Research and Training Center, a NIH-funded center that facilitates the diabetes-related research of more than 120 Vanderbilt scientists. Alvin Powers is a Board member of ISE since 2020 and has been actively involved in many educational activities of ISE. He has a record of leadership roles, including President of the American Diabetes Association, and has received many awards related to his main field of expertise – diabetes.

Hirotaka Shibata (Japan) – Treasurer

Hirotaka Shibata is Professor and Chairman at the Department of Endocrinology, Metabolism, Rheumatology and Nephrology, Faculty of Medicine, Oita University. His main specialty is adrenal diseases and endocrine hypertension (cardiovascular endocrinology). Hirotaka joined the ISE Board in 2018 and has since been an active member of the ISE Education Working group. He is part of the leadership team of the Japan Endocrine Society and also the Chair of the 95th Annual Congress of the Japan Endocrine Society in 2022, in Oita. He was a task force member of the Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guideline of Primary Aldosteronism (2016) and also a vice chair for the Consensus Statement on Clinical Practice of Primary Aldosteronism in Japan by the Japan Endocrine Society (2016).

Hiroshi Arima (Japan) – Board member

Hiroshi Arima is Professor at the Endocrinology and Diabetes Department of the Nagoya University Graduate School of Medicine and President of the Japan Endocrine Society. He has also served as Deputy Dean of the Nagoya University Graduate School of Medicine and Vice President of the Japan Neuroendocrine Society. His speciality is neuroendocrinology and he has large number of published papers in the area.


Jean-Patrice Baillargeon (Canada) – Board member

Jean-Patrice Baillargeon is Professor of Medicine at the Université de Sherbrooke. His primary areas of expertise include reproductive endocrinology, polycystic ovary syndrome, obesity, health system improvement and biostatistics/epidemiology. He is Director of the Reproductive Endocrinology Clinic of the Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke (CHUS). Together with researchers, patient representatives, health professionals, healthcare administrators and policy-makers he founded the Canadian network on reproductive and maternal health of women with obesity and infertility. He was also awarded the Young Investigator Award from the Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism.

Imperia Brajkovich (Venezuela) – Board member

Imperia Brajkovich is Professor of Endocrinology, Internal medicine, Diabetes and Obesity. She has held many leadership positions on the Board of Directors of national and regional organizations such as: Secretary, Vice President and President of the Venezuelan Association for the Study of Obesity (from 2004 to 2012); Vice-President and President of the Venezuelan Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism (from 2008 to 2018); Secretary, Vice President and President of the Latin American Federation of Societies of Obesity (from 2008 to 2017).

Neil Hanley (UK) – Board member

Neil Hanley is a Professor of Medicine and Vice-Dean covering Research & Innovation (R&I) at the Faculty of Biology, Medicine & Health of the University of Manchester, UK. He is a consultant clinical endocrinologist at Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust. He is a past Council member of the UK Society for Endocrinology and a trustee of the Clinical Endocrinology Trust. In 2019, Neil was President of the Association of Physicians of Great Britain and Ireland.


Sanjay Kalra (India) – Board member

Sanjay Kalra is Past President of the Endocrine Society of India and President-elect of the South Asian Federation of Endocrine Societies (SAFES). He also serves on the executive council of the Research Society for Study of Diabetes in India. He has over 1000 PubMed indexed articles to his name, and has fostered bilateral and multilateral links in the field of endocrinology between various Afro Asian countries.


Barbara McGowan (UK) – Board member

Based in London, Barbara McGowan is a leading expert in endocrinology. Her special interests include weight loss, bariatric medicine, polycystic ovarian syndrome, thyroid problems, infertility, adrenal disease and pituitary disorders. Outside of her clinic, she is dedicated to research, her work has been recognized by NIHR/RCP who awarded her for her “outstanding contribution to research” in 2016. She practices from Guy’s Hospital and BMI Bishops Wood while also serving as an Honorary Professor at King’s College London. She is a Council member of the UK Society for Endocrinology.


See the current full ISE Board below.