Alvin Powers


Alvin C. Powers, M.D., the Joe C. Davis Chair in Biologic Science and Professor of Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at Vanderbilt University, is the Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Center, the Chief of the Vanderbilt Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism, and the Director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Research and Training Center, a NIH-funded center that facilitates the diabetes-related research of more than 120 Vanderbilt scientists.

He is a physician-scientist whose research on type 1 and type 2 diabetes focuses on pancreatic islet biology, development, and function.

Dr. Powers was the Director of the Vanderbilt Medical Student Research Training Program in Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism from 1996-2019 and is the Founding Coordinator for the NIH/NIDDK Medical Student Research Program in Diabetes. These two programs enable more than 100 medical students to conduct diabetes-related research each summer at a NIDDK-supported Diabetes Research Center.

Dr. Powers was elected to the Association of American Physicians and as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

He is the recipient of the David Rumbough Award for Scientific Excellence from the JDRF, the Banting Medal for Leadership and Service from the ADA, the Naomi Berrie Award for Outstanding Achievement in Diabetes Research from Columbia University, and the Outstanding Educator Award from the Endocrine Society.

He served as President of Medicine & Science of the American Diabetes Association in 2017.

Dr. Powers, a physician at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and the VA Tennessee Valley Healthcare System, has been listed by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd as one of “America’s Top Doctors.”

Dr. Powers received his undergraduate degree from the University of Virginia and his medical degree from the University of Tennessee Center for the Health Sciences. After training in internal medicine at Duke University Medical Center, he trained in Endocrinology and Diabetes at the Joslin Diabetes Center, the Massachusetts General Hospital, and Harvard Medical School.